goin’ to the chapel….

the photo is a little blurry.

AND I LOVE IT! the reality of the moment speaks volumes!

DSC_0043 for blog

i love it because katelyn is hurrying down the hall.

she’s hurrying down the hall to meet dan in the sanctuary. they had pictures taken before the ceremony and they met for some special one on one time together where dan would see her for the first time in her dress. it was just the photographer in the sanctuary with the 2 of them quietly capturing their special one on one moments. can’t wait to see those! 🙂

i captured this shot of katelyn scurrying down the hall to meet my son.

him: the love of her life. her: the love of his life. yeah, that’s why i adore this photo i captured. i see and feel the excitement when i look at this shot. soon after this shot is when i put my camera away for the day.

 WHY would i do that you ask? well……there was one big thing the mother of the bride and i figured out when we got to the church that day. that big thing was that our roles, for the first time since the kids were born, was not to be photographers. our role was not to have our cameras around our necks and sit back with the camera in front of our faces the entire time capturing every moment that warmed our hearts. on that day that job was that of the professional photograher and family members who would then share their photos with us.

not having my camera in front of my face the whole day was TOUGH for me. i mean really, really tough. i had / have full trust in the amazing photographer that the kids chose. i have complete confidence that she captured those moments and memories beautifully.  that wasn’t the tough part. the tough part was that i go everywhere with my camera. its literally a part of my wardrobe on any given day.

it was dan’s idea for me to come to the wedding without my nikon wrapped around my neck all day. he asked me if i would come and relax and take in his special day from the other side of the camera. (he did agree to allow me to bring it for the getting ready part of the day…for about 2 hours :))

he knows me well. he knew i would capture amazing moments and memories and would have fun shooting pictures every few seconds. but he wanted me to really SEE it all. to experience it all. he wanted me to live the moments and not be the one capturing other peoples moments.

thank you dan. thank you for asking me to do something that was really tough for me to do that resulted in something far more precious to me. i lived the moments. i sat and watched moments. i relaxed and took it all in. every expression. every happy tear. every smile. every laugh. every special look. every happy once in a lifetime moment of your special day.

……more casual snapshots coming ……stay tuned. and for sure i’ll share the professional shots taken by the photographer when we get them.

12 responses to “goin’ to the chapel….

  1. Beautiful photo – can’t wait to see more!

  2. This is absolutely beautiful! I cannot wait to see the rest!

  3. Wow, Carrie! That IS a beautiful shot. I can imgine how hard it was for you to leave your camera home but glad you got to LIVE it instead! Can’t wait to see more pics 🙂
    Congrats!

  4. Cindy Koenig

    oh wow this is beautiful – and knowing the story behind the photo — even more beautiful! They are one very happy couple – I’m so happy for them! and can’t wait to see more photos!!
    You did good Carrie – we all know it was tough not taking pictures – but oh how precious to actually SEE every special moment !!

  5. Laina Millson

    Absolutely, beautifully put Carrie. Good for you girl I really don’t know if I would be able to do that!

  6. OH This is just gorgeous Carrie!!!!!!!!! I love it. I cannot WAIT to see all the photo’s. Congrats to your family!!!

  7. The back of her dress is gorgeous and I love the story you have for the photo 🙂 I also agree that it’s easy to get caught up in taking pictures and not really “see” the event as it happens. I’m glad you were able to fully enjoy the day

  8. aw! that is such a great shot and the back of the dress is gorgeous…who needs a front? 😉

    i saw your layout in ST this weekend, my mom’s friend gets it, it is beautiful!

  9. awww Carrie. Your post nearly made me cry. in fact…my eyes are all watery. You are such a special person and great mom! I’m so glad you got to FULLY experience such a big step in Dan’s life AND yours. I’m wrapping my arms around ya in a big cyber hug! beautiful photo you captured too! xoxoxoxxo

  10. Hi Aunt Carrie! That’s such a cool picture; I love it!!! Great job with the pictures you took at the wedding!!!

  11. Danielle!!! You found my blog!!! Yeah!!
    Just wait until I post pictures of our vacation with you hiking and bike riding. You were transformed into a Ferrier for sure! 🙂 Miss you sweetie girl!

  12. It sure looks and sounds like everything turned out picture perfect! Everyone looks so happy! And I am glad you were able to enjoy the day! Congratulations!!!!

Leave a Reply

