my friend, mr. nikon D80.

 for-blog-4-22

i’ve been filling my mind with alot of nikon knowledge lately.
i’ve taken a couple on line classes.
i’ve gone to THE camera store in town and talked to the experts.
i connected with one class instructor there.  such a nice man!
he is offering to give me some helpful hints for free.
i sure won’t turn that down.
i am currently beginning a dvd that this instructor said would change my life.
i hope he’s right. i hope it changes my life.
i’m gathering different family members for fun photo shoots.
i need practice models.
beth and susan, if you were only here!!!
you 2 would SO be my models. coming here anytime soon?

all my gathering of knowledge and fun photo shoots are for 1 goal.
to be able to effortlessly take amazing photos at my nieces wedding in june.
i am not a true, genuine photographer. i don’t pretend to be.
i take a boat load of pictures and i love it.
but professional i am not.
it’s with great honor and excitement (and a fair share of nervousness) that i accepted krissy’s request to take photos at her wedding.
again, i know i’m not a professional by any means.
but i will do my best at taking those special pictures for kris.
for all my scrappy friends, i know you get what i’m saying.
so say a prayer that all my knowledge seeking will sink in to my brain.
say that little prayer that i’ll keenly be aware of the perfert photo ops that day.
those perfect shots are in my brain.
i envision them and am excited to take them!
say a little prayer that me and mr. nikon D80 gel that day.
for krissy and jeff and their special day.
i know you totally get what i’m saying scrappy friends!
and dave if you’re reading this….
i need your expertise and amazing eye for design that day too!

other news…
ed and i doing something kinda crazy tomorrow evening.
we’re jumping in the car and going to an away hockey game.

komet-picture

we have season tickets for home games.
the KOMETS are in the playoffs right now.
we’re a big hockey lovin’ family.
we’re driving to michigan for the game.
sitting in row D right behind our Komet bench.
okay, so it’s not WILD and crazy, but out of the norm.
so a little crazy. 🙂
and what better friend to take with us than mr. nikon D80!

mr-nikon-d80-2

afterall, we do need to become best friends right now!!
GO KOMETS!   GO MR. NIKON D80!!

17 responses to “my friend, mr. nikon D80.

  1. Mmmm…I’d love your links to the online classes and the DVD! My photography education has kind of gotten put on hold for the last few months, but I need to get crackin’ so I can take some great newborn shots when little Jack gets here! I love my lenses, but still need to figure out why I get blurry shots sometimes and…well, I just need to know what the heck I’m doing. 😉

    I have a feeling you’ll figure it all out just fine in time for Kris’s wedding. Trust your own design eye – you’ve definitely got one. Hope all goes smoothly for the weddings…can’t believe they’re so close! Hope you’re staying relaxed and enjoying the process! 🙂

  2. Carrie,

    Some of our favorite wedding shots were the “First Glimpse” shots of Rich & Amy. Our photographer was a friend of Rich’s family and he had the kids go into the sanctuary before everyone else for the pre-wedding photos and took a few shots of them having a special time together…seeing each other for the first time on their wedding day. He really captured what the two were feeling. It also helped a LOT with pre-wedding nerves.

    Rich and Amy were up in the air for a long time about having photos BEFORE the wedding, but I can say that aftewards, they were glad that they did. It was also great to have you and Val there to take some of the less formal photos so I could just sit and relax and enjoy the reception.

    I have no doubt that you will do a fabulous job with this!!! Can’t wait to see the results!!!

  3. I hope you have a great time at the hockey game! I love hockey- fast paced! Enjoy Mr.D80- he looks like a good time!

  4. I’ve been wanting a DSLR for a few years now. I’ve started saving my money…. and I’m hoping before summer (& our trip to Colorado) that I’ll have one. I went shopping yesterday and looked at the Pentax K200.
    Enjoy your hockey date and playing with Mr. Nikon D80!

  5. That camera looks fun! I don’t know much about any of that. The wedding should be fun. I love the shots our photographer took of us, but our wedding was at the beach. Look around some photo websites and see what others are doing, to get some ideas.

  6. if you like the DVD would you share? i have a nikon too and a DVD it more up my alley for learning more about it.

    and yeah for hockey!!! i love to watch it live, it is super exciting.

    i was thinking of you today…did you ever finish your bathroom? i will have to scroll down…i want to look into that herring bone wallpaper 🙂

  7. Go KOMETS!

  8. catchinghappiness

    Carrie I am sure you will do an amazing job for the wedding. I have every confidence in you. So does Mr. Nikon! Enjoy the hockey game!
    Amy Tara

  9. Anabelle O'Malley

    Best of luck! I wish I had time to become better acquainted with Ms. d50! What is the DVD???

  10. audreypettit

    Very cool, Carrie! I do wish you the best of luck with your new photo taking knowledge and skills. I SO wish I could learn to take better photos….but I think I’m way too lazy to put the effort into it! ha!
    Enjoy your hockey game. so fun that you and your hubby can get away like that.

  11. Wow I just have the Nikon D40 – guess I’m behind the times so quickly! Love hockey games although I’ve only seen a couple!

  12. Carrie ur a SUPER DUPER talented lady and I soooooo believe in you…… ur pictures are going to come out fantastic. !!!!! Will you be heading out to CHA in July ? I would luv to get together this time if you are ?!

  13. Cindy Koenig

    Hey sis! I am SO glad you are doing the photos for Kristen and Jeff’s wedding. They are thrilled to have you do it – she’s seen your abilities alot through the years,and knows she loves how you capture special moments! So – rest easy little sis – you will do a great job! and thank you,thank you!
    Have a great time at the hockeye game – you two wild & crazy kids!! ha ha

  14. You’ll do a great a job with the photos!!!! 🙂 🙂 Have fun at the hockey game….we like hockey here too! 🙂

  15. Carrie, I know you will do an amazing job at Krissy’s wedding! You have a knack for catching moments on film (well, not on FILM anymore!) but digitally! Is that even a word??
    Have fun at the hockey game, you crazy kids!!!

  16. Mr. Carrie.This Is Me

    Game was BORING but the company was SCINTILLATING!

  17. I just know you will take beautiful photos! Don’t worry about perfection – just capture the moment!

    Sorry the game was boring but glad your company was not! 😉

Leave a Reply

